My holiday season went well, for better or worse. Shortly after Christmas something nasty decided to dwell in my sinuses and stay over New Year’s, but some rearrangement of work days helped me grab some time to recover. Believe it or not, but I almost made it through the entire year without getting sick, but at least now I don’t have to fret about making such a dumb goal this year, as it’s already broken.

I haven’t really thought of any goals for 2010 yet. There are the ones I’ve had for years that sit upon some shelf in my mind: get out of this area, find a good career, find more friends, find someone to spend the rest of my life with. I’m afraid whatever shelf I’ve put them on was too close to the heater, though, and they’ve all melted together into a sticky mess. It doesn’t seem I can really achieve one goal without having achieved at least one of the others, and I can’t say my goals this year are to find these things because I know all too well that they simply just might not happen within this timeframe no matter what I do.

Two of the best things that happened to me last year were starting this blog and joining the games blog at LeftStickRight.com. Both have proven that there’s still a world out there where I could incorporate writing into something that would keep me alive and that I’d love and feel I belong in doing. Whether I’ll actually find the path to get there remains to be seen, but I will continue to write for these as long as people get something out of them.

So aside from keeping up some healthy choices and continuing to lose some weight, I don’t really have any resolutions or goals for 2010. Years are just mental milestones of our own device — we find them more meaningful if great triumph or tragedy happens to us within one, but to the rest of the universe, the notches we make on the insides of our skulls means naught.

